Prof. V. Indumathi, Professor and Head, Department of Mathematics, was the first Head of the Women’ cell at its inception on 20. 04. 2012, followed by Prof. Priya Davidar, Professor, Department of Ecology and Environmental Sciences who took over the headship of the cell on 02. 07. 2012. Prof. G. Chandhrika, Professor and Head, Department of History took over as Head, Women’s Cell on 04.03.2013

The present office bearers

Head Period of tenure

Dr. R. Nalini,

Centre Head, Centre for Women Studies, Pondicherry University (Faculty/Officer Representative)
06.04.2018 to 05.04.2020
Members Period of tenure

Dr. Sarmila Acharif,

Assistant Professor, Department of French, Pondicherry University (Faculty Representative)
06.04.2018 to 05.04.2020

Dr. Kalpana Bhrara,

Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, Kirori Mal College, University of Delhi.(External Representative)
A-2/246, Upper Ground Floor, Janakpuri, New Delhi-110058
06.04.2018 to 05.04.2020

Dr. B. Chitra,

Joint Registrar (Exam), Pondicherry University (Non-teaching Staff Representative)
06.04.2018 to 05.04.2020

Ms. Shreya Dutta,

Ph.D. Research Scholar, Department of French, Pondicherry University (Student’s Representative)
06.04.2018 to 05.04.2020

Representatives of Women’s Cell

The Women’ Cell has nominated the following members to serve as representatives of various schools/campus, etc. at Pondicherry university

Sl.No Schools/Departments Name of the Member Phone Number
1 School of Life Sciences Dr. S. Sudharani  9443768726/961
2 School of Applied Sciences Dr. D. Dhanalakshmi 9840224559/692
3 School of Mathematical Sciences Dr. Kiruthika 9444639721/667
4 School of Management Dr. V. Nirmala 9443294169/376
5 Karaikal Centre for Management Dr. Lalitha Ramakrishnan 9489679204/-----
6 School of Tamil Dr. R. Srividya 9994510063/736
7 School of Humanities Dr. S. Indira  9443406805/492
8 School of Humanities – Languages Dr. SujathaVijayaraghavan 0413-2332108/346
9 Andaman Centre (DOSMB) Dr. Gadi Padmavati 09933247796/---
10 Sports Dr. G. Vasanthi 9442215006/671
11 School of Social Sciences Dr. Valerie Dkhar 8940739628/389
12 Dept. of Social Work Dr. Shahin Sultana 8903306712/954
13 School of Education Dr. E. Sreekala 9500703183/628
14 School of Media and Communication Dr. RekaRanai Varghese 9443133141/593
15 School of Engineering and Technology Dr. S. Sivasathya 9487566093/518
16 Community College Dr. K. S. Kumari 9442580530/----
17 Directorate of Distance Education Ms. A. Punitha 9884960686/443